ASHP Practice Resource

ASHP Foundation: 2023 Residency Excellence, Literature Awards

Published: November 16, 2023
ASHP Foundation Awards and Events

The ASHP Foundation is hosting a special reception recognizing our annual awardees! On Dec. 3 at 5:00–6:30 p.m. in the Marriott Grand Ballroom F, Lobby Level, all meeting attendees can meet and mingle with our Literature Award recipients and our Pharmacy Residency Excellence Award honorees while learning more about the ASHP Foundation.

The 2023 Pharmacy Residency Excellence Awards are supported by Medi-Dose and Samson Medication Technologies. The year’s winners are:

Jennifer Cole
Jennifer Cole

Preceptor Award

Jennifer Cole, PharmD, BCPS, BCCCP, FCCP, FCCM
Critical Care Clinical Pharmacy Specialist
Veterans Healthcare System of the Ozarks
Fayettsville, Arkansas


Kellie Goodlet

New Preceptor Award

Kellie Goodlet, PharmD, BCPS, BCIDP, BCTXP
Associate Professor, Faculty Clinical Pharmacist
St. Joseph’s Hospital and Medical Center
Phoeniz, Arizona

group photo of 2023 Excellence Award recipients
2023 Excellence Award recipients

Program Award

Houston Methodist Hospital
PGY2 Critical Care Pharmacy Residency Program

Learn More about these awardees at

The 2023 Literature Award recipients are:

Award for Sustained Contributions

Kevin W. Garey, PharmD, MS, FASHP, FIDSA, FCCP
University of Houston College of Pharmacy

Pharmacy Practice Research Award

Andrea Sikora, PharmD, MSCR, BCCCP, FCCM, FCCP
Impact of Pharmacists to Improve Patient Care in the Critically Ill: A Large Multicenter Analysis Using Meaningful Metrics with the Medication Regimen Complexity-ICU. Crit Care Med

Innovation in Pharmacy Practice Research Award

Jennifer Cole, PharmD, BCPS, BCCCP, FCCP, FCCM
A Multifaceted Stewardship Intervention Helps Curb Steroid Overprescribing in Hospitalized Patients with Acute Exacerbations of COPD. AJHP

Drug Therapy Research Award

Ismaeel Yunusa, PharmD, PhD, MPH
Risk of Opioid Overdose Associated with Concomitant Use of Oxycodone and Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitors. JAMA Netw Open

Resident Research Award

Steven Kulesza, PharmD
Hydrocortisone Versus Vasopressin for the Management of Adult Patients with Septic Shock Refractory to Norepinephrine: A Multicenter Retrospective Study. Pharmacotherapy

Student Research Award

Niloufar Salehpour, PharmD
Performance of Bayesian Area Under the Concentration-Time Curve-Based Pharmacokinetic Dosing Based on a One-Compartment Model and Trough-Only Monitoring for Vancomycin. Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy


Medi-Dose EPS logo     Samson Medical Technologies LLC logo


Learn more about these awardees at


Posted November 16, 2023

Popular Topics

View All Topics

Advance Your Professional Development

View Other Products

Free Board Exam Prep Resources

The Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP) includes free access to exam preparation material + enrollment in a recertification plan billed monthly ($10) during your initial recertification cycle. For ASHP members only.

Learn More
Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP)

New Edition Available to Order

AHFS Drug Information® 2024 contains the most dependable drug information available—all in one place. It is the most comprehensive evidence-based source of drug information complete with therapeutic guidelines and off-label uses.

Order Today
AHFS 2024 Drug Information