ASHP Announces 2019 Awards

Published: March 6, 2019
ASHP Press Release

Pharmacy Organization Honors Practice Excellence, Outstanding Contributions to Healthcare

ASHP will recognize the achievements of an accomplished group of healthcare practitioners with the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award and the organization’s 2019 Board of Directors’ Awards. The following awards will be presented this year during ceremonies at ASHP’s national meetings:

Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award (ASHP Summer Meetings, June 2019)
The Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of pharmacy practice. The award is considered to be the highest honor in health-system pharmacy.


  • Bruce E. Scott, M.S., FASHP, President (retired), EnvisionPharmacies, North Canton, Ohio
    Mr. Scott is an influential pharmacy and health-system administrator who is noted for his efforts to expand clinical services, commitment to developing future generations of pharmacy leaders, and active service to the profession.

Honorary Membership (ASHP Summer Meetings, June 2019)
The ASHP Board of Directors’ Honorary Membership Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to pharmacy practice. Honorary members are elected for life by unanimous vote of the ASHP Board of Directors.


  • Henri R. Manasse Jr., Ph.D., Sc.D., FFIP, CEO Emeritus, ASHP, and Professor and Dean Emeritus, University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy
    Dr. Manasse is a highly respected educator and leader in pharmacy and healthcare. A distinguished ambassador for the profession in the United States and abroad, he was an original advocate for sustained advances in pharmacy practice and played a key role in promoting the contributions of pharmacists in medication error prevention and safe medication use. Dr. Manasse served as ASHP CEO from 1997 to 2011.
  • Sara J. White, M.S., FASHP, Director of Pharmacy (retired), Stanford Hospital and Clinics
    Ms. White is a prominent pharmacy director, author, and leader in pharmacy. She is known as an insightful thinker about the future of health-system pharmacy and is a vocal champion for leadership development for pharmacists at all stages of their careers.  

Award of Honor (54th Midyear Clinical Meeting, December 2019)
The ASHP Board of Directors’ Award of Honor recognizes individuals outside the pharmacy discipline who have made extraordinary national or worldwide contributions to the health field.


  • Arjun Srinivasan, M.D., CAPT, U.S. Public Health Service (USPHS), Associate Director for Healthcare-Associated Infection Prevention Programs, Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion, National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Disease, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta
    Dr. Srinivasan is a nationally recognized physician leader, patient advocate, and research scientist. Dr. Srinivasan is a champion of improved antibiotic prescribing and is known for involving pharmacists on interprofessional antibiotic stewardship teams.

Distinguished Leadership Award (54th Midyear Clinical Meeting, December 2019)
The ASHP Board of Directors’ Distinguished Leadership Award recognizes contributions to excellence in pharmacy practice leadership in acute and ambulatory care settings.


  • RADM (retired) Pamela Schweitzer, Pharm.D., BCACP, Assistant Surgeon General and 10th Chief Pharmacy Officer, USPHS, Baltimore 
    RADM Schweitzer is the USPHS’s first female Chief Pharmacy Officer. Throughout her career, RADM Schweitzer has developed lasting partnerships that improved the ability of federal pharmacists to serve the missions of their respective organizations.

Donald E. Francke Medal (54th Midyear Clinical Meeting, December 2019)
The ASHP Board of Directors’ Donald E. Francke Medal honors pharmacists who have made significant international contributions to advance pharmacy practice.


  • Albert I. Wertheimer, B.S.Pharm., Ph.D., M.B.A., Professor, Nova Southeastern University, College of Pharmacy, Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., and Visiting Professor, Touro College of Pharmacy, New York, N.Y.
    Dr. Wertheimer’s work, which combines outcomes research and pharmacoeconomics, has helped patients around the world obtain safe and affordable medications and has contributed to reduced national health expenditures.

About ASHP
ASHP represents pharmacists who serve as patient care providers in acute and ambulatory settings. The organization’s nearly 50,000 members include pharmacists, student pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians. For more than 75 years, ASHP has been at the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists advance healthcare, visit ASHP’s website,, or its consumer website,



Posted March 6, 2019

Advance Your Professional Development

View Other Products

Free Board Exam Prep Resources

The Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP) includes free access to exam preparation material + enrollment in a recertification plan billed monthly ($10) during your initial recertification cycle. For ASHP members only.

Learn More
Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP)

New Edition Available to Order

AHFS Drug Information® 2024 contains the most dependable drug information available—all in one place. It is the most comprehensive evidence-based source of drug information complete with therapeutic guidelines and off-label uses.

Order Today
AHFS 2024 Drug Information