ASHP Names John S. Clark Winner of 2024 John W. Webb Lecture Award

Published: June 6, 2024
John S. Clark

ASHP is pleased to announce that John S. Clark, PharmD, MS, BCPS, FASHP, is the recipient of the 2024 John W. Webb Lecture Award. The annual award recognizes a pharmacy practitioner who has fostered excellence in pharmacy administration.

Clark is associate chief pharmacy officer at Michigan Medicine and clinical associate professor at the University of Michigan College of Pharmacy. He is responsible for acute care clinical and distribution pharmacy practice, education and professional development, and medication use system technology.

After completing a health-system pharmacy administration residency at the University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics, Clark held several roles at Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore, including assistant director of pharmacy, pediatrics, and director of the pediatric pharmacy division. He joined the University of Michigan Hospitals and Health Centers in 2007 as associate director of pharmacy.

In addition to his clinical responsibilities, Clark has trained more than 120 residents as director of Michigan Medicine’s postgraduate year 1 and 2 health-system pharmacy administration and leadership residency program.

Active in state and national pharmacy associations, Clark is a past chair of the ASHP Commission on Credentialing and visited 35 pharmacy residency training sites as an ASHP practitioner surveyor. He is also a past president of the Michigan Society of Health-System Pharmacy (MSHP) and a current member of the Michigan Pharmacist Association (MPA) Board of Directors. He is a frequent presenter at professional meetings. He is an author or co-author of 35 peer-reviewed publications, including ASHP’s annual National Trends in Prescription Drug Expenditures and Projections and the ASHP Guidelines on the Prevention of Diversion of Controlled Substances.

Clark is a fellow of ASHP and has received many awards for his contributions to pharmacy practice, including the University of Wisconsin Winston J. Durant Lecture Award, ASHP Foundation Literature Award for Innovation in Pharmacy Practice, MSHP Pharmacist of the Year, and the MPA Wall of Honor.

Clark earned a Bachelor of Science in pharmaceutical sciences and a Doctor of Pharmacy at the University of Toledo College of Pharmacy. He earned a Master of Science in health-system pharmacy administration from the University of Wisconsin School of Pharmacy.

Clark will receive the award and deliver a lecture during the ASHP Conference for Pharmacy Leaders in October.

Posted June 6, 2024

Advance Your Professional Development

View Other Products

Free Board Exam Prep Resources

The Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP) includes free access to exam preparation material + enrollment in a recertification plan billed monthly ($10) during your initial recertification cycle. For ASHP members only.

Learn More
Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP)

New Edition Available to Order

AHFS Drug Information® 2024 contains the most dependable drug information available—all in one place. It is the most comprehensive evidence-based source of drug information complete with therapeutic guidelines and off-label uses.

Order Today
AHFS 2024 Drug Information