ASHP Announces 2018 Awards

Published: February 20, 2018
ASHP Press Release

Pharmacy Organization Honors Practice Excellence, Outstanding Contributions to Healthcare

ASHP will recognize the achievements of an accomplished group of healthcare practitioners with the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award and the organization’s 2018 Board of Directors’ Awards. The following awards will be presented during ceremonies at ASHP’s national meetings:

  • Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award (ASHP Summer Meetings, June 2018)
    The Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to health-system pharmacy. The award is considered to be the highest honor in the profession.

    Rebecca S. Finley, Pharm.D., M.S., FASHP, Founding Dean and Professor, Jefferson College of Pharmacy, Thomas Jefferson University, Philadelphia
    Dr. Finley is an accomplished practitioner and researcher who is noted for her sustained contributions to oncology practice, professional organizations, and academia.
  • Honorary Membership (ASHP Summer Meetings, June 2018)
    The ASHP Board of Directors’ Honorary Membership Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to pharmacy practice. Honorary members are elected for life by unanimous vote of the ASHP Board of Directors.

    Rita R. Shane, Pharm.D., FASHP, FCSHP, Chief Pharmacy Officer and Professor of Medicine, Cedars Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles; Assistant Dean, Clinical Pharmacy, University of California-San Francisco School of Pharmacy
    Dr. Shane has sustained a strong commitment to improving patient safety and expanding clinical pharmacy services. Her extensive contributions to the scientific literature have been influential in raising the awareness of state and national healthcare decision-makers about the critical role that pharmacists play as patient care providers.
  • Award of Honor (53rd Midyear Clinical Meeting, December 2018)
    The ASHP Board of Directors’ Award of Honor recognizes individuals outside the pharmacy discipline who have made extraordinary national or worldwide contributions to the health field.

    Brock A. Slabach, M.P.H., FACHE, Senior Vice President for Member Services, National Rural Health Association, Leawood, Kan.
    Mr. Slabach is an advocate for healthcare policies that address the needs of patients receiving care in small and rural hospitals, including pharmacy services in these settings. He has promoted leadership on rural health issues through advocacy, education, and communications.
  • Distinguished Leadership Award (53rd Midyear Clinical Meeting, December 2018)
    The ASHP Board of Directors’ Distinguished Leadership Award recognizes contributions to excellence in pharmacy practice leadership in acute and ambulatory care settings.

    Christopher A. Hatwig, B.S.Pharm., M.S., FASHP, President, Apexus LLC, Irving, Texas
    Mr. Hatwig is one of the nation’s foremost experts on the 340B Drug Pricing Program and has an exceptional record of leading innovative and progressive pharmacy services in acute and ambulatory care settings.

    Mark H. Siska, B.S.Pharm., M.B.A./T.M.,
    Chief Pharmacy Informatics Officer, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn.
    Mr. Siska has provided national leadership around the adoption of health information technology by articulating its value and focusing attention on how pharmacy informatics and technology may be leveraged to achieve operational, quality, safety, and practice advancements.
  • Donald E. Francke Medal (53rd Midyear Clinical Meeting, December 2018)
    The ASHP Board of Directors’ Donald E. Francke Medal honors pharmacists who have made significant international contributions to advance pharmacy practice.

    Abdul Latif Sheikh, B.S.Pharm., M.S., President and CEO, Pakistan Society of Health System Pharmacists, Karachi, Pakistan
    Mr. Sheikh is a strong advocate of patient safety and quality of care internationally. He has been instrumental in advancing state-of-the-art hospital pharmacy services and pharmaceutical supply chain systems in several countries and is an active leader in numerous national and international pharmacy organizations.

About ASHP
ASHP represents pharmacists who serve as patient care providers in acute and ambulatory settings. The organization’s 45,000 members include pharmacists, student pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians. For more than 75 years, ASHP has been at the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists advance healthcare, visit ASHP’s website,, or its consumer website,



Posted February 20, 2018

Advance Your Professional Development

View Other Products

Free Board Exam Prep Resources

The Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP) includes free access to exam preparation material + enrollment in a recertification plan billed monthly ($10) during your initial recertification cycle. For ASHP members only.

Learn More
Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP)

New Edition Available to Order

AHFS Drug Information® 2024 contains the most dependable drug information available—all in one place. It is the most comprehensive evidence-based source of drug information complete with therapeutic guidelines and off-label uses.

Order Today
AHFS 2024 Drug Information