Finley to Receive 2018 Whitney Award

Published: April 4, 2018

Rebecca S. Finley, Pharm.D., M.S., FASHP, Founding Dean and Professor of the Jefferson School of Pharmacy at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia, has been named the recipient of ASHP’s 2018 Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award.

The annual Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to health-system pharmacy. The award is considered to be the highest honor in hospital and health-system pharmacy.

An accomplished practitioner and researcher, Finley began her career in 1979 as a clinical pharmacist at the University of Maryland Cancer Center in Baltimore. For more than 18 years, she served in a variety of positions at the University of Maryland, including Director of Oncology Research Services at the University of Maryland Medical Systems Department of Pharmacy Services; Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Science at the School of Pharmacy; and Head, Section of Cancer Center Pharmacy Services, and Associate Professor of Oncology at the School of Medicine.

In 1997, Finley joined the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy, where she was Chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Associate Dean of Pharmacy. She also served as President of the Meniscus Educational Institute, a for-profit, accredited medical education company.

A longtime member of ASHP, Finley has held numerous volunteer and leadership positions, serving as a Maryland representative to the ASHP House of Delegates, a member of the Council on Educational Affairs, and an oncology residency accreditation surveyor. In 1991, she was elected to a three-year term on the ASHP Board of Directors and, in 1994, was elected as ASHP President. Finley has also served in leadership roles with ASHP state affiliates in Maryland and Pennsylvania.

ASHP has administered the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award, established in 1950 by the Southeastern Michigan Society of Hospital Pharmacists, since 1963. Harvey A.K. Whitney, ASHP’s first president, was an editor, author, educator, practitioner, and leader in hospital pharmacy. Past recipients and ASHP members submit nominations for the award, and the winner is selected by a majority vote of past honorees.

Finley will receive the award on June 5 during ASHP’s Summer Meetings in Denver.


Posted April 4, 2018

Advance Your Professional Development

View All

Medication Safety Certificate

Certification is a process used by health care organizations worldwide to accurately assess their level of performance in relation to established standards and to implement ways to continuously improve.
Enroll Today
New Practitioner Hero Image

Basic in Cardiology Pharmacy Certificate

This self-guided, online learning activity will provide 29 hours of ACPE continuing education for pharmacists, incorporating recorded presentations and skill-focused activities.
Enroll Today