ASHP Honors Members for Practice Excellence, Leadership

Published: April 24, 2018
ASHP Press Release

Sixteen Pharmacists Designated Fellows in 2018

Sixteen members of ASHP have been given the title “Fellow” of ASHP in recognition of the excellence they have achieved in pharmacy practice. The 2018 Fellows will be honored on Tuesday, June 5, 2018, during the ASHP Summer Meetings and Exhibition in Denver.

The ASHP Practitioner Recognition Program rewards excellence in pharmacy practice by granting recognition through the FASHP designation. Members who have achieved FASHP status have successfully demonstrated sustained commitment or contributions to excellence in practice for at least 10 years, contributed to the total body of knowledge in the field, demonstrated active involvement and leadership in ASHP, and have been actively involved in and committed to educating practitioners and others. The program has recognized 916 Fellows since it began in 1988.

The 2018 Fellows are as follows:

Jill S. Bates, Pharm.D., M.S., BCOP, CPP, UNC Medical Center, Chapel Hill, NC

Sylvia M. Belford, Pharm.D., M.S., CPHIMS, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN

Philip W. Brummond, Pharm.D., M.S., Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, WI

Gregory P. Burger, Pharm.D., CPPS, Stormont Vail Health, Topeka, KS

Lisa L. Deal, Pharm.D., B.S.N., R.N., BCPS, Christiana Care Health System, Wilmington, DE

Brenda R. Denson, Pharm.D., Children’s of Alabama, Birmingham, AL

Robert P. Granko, Pharm.D., M.B.A., Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital, Cone Health, Greensboro, NC

Leslie Dotson Jaggers, Pharm.D., BCPS, Samsky Advanced Heart Failure Center, Atlanta, GA

Rondell C. Jaggers, Pharm.D., Grady Health System, Atlanta, GA

Karen L. Kier, B.S.Pharm., Ph.D., M.Sc., BCACP, BCPS, CTTS, Ohio Northern University, Ada, OH

Donald E. Letendre, Pharm.D., University of Iowa, College of Pharmacy, Iowa City, IA

Ali McBride, Pharm.D., M.S., The University of Arizona Cancer Center, Tucson, AZ

Kathryn Clark McKinney, Pharm.D., M.S., BCPS, UC Health - University of Cincinnati Medical Center, Cincinnati, OH

Ranee M. Runnebaum, Pharm.D., M.H.I., Children’s Hospital of New Orleans, New Orleans, LA

Kenneth M. Shermock, Pharm.D., Ph.D., The Johns Hopkins Health System, Baltimore, MD

Aaron L. Steffenhagen, Pharm.D., BCPS, UW Health, Madison, WI

For information about the ASHP Practitioner Recognition Program or to request an application, contact [email protected]. Information, program criteria, and forms are also available on ASHP’s website. The deadline for receipt of 2019 applications is October 1, 2018.

About ASHP
ASHP represents pharmacists who serve as patient care providers in acute and ambulatory settings. The organization’s 45,000 members include pharmacists, student pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians. For more than 75 years, ASHP has been at the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists advance healthcare, visit ASHP’s website,, or its consumer website,



Posted April 24, 2018

Advance Your Professional Development

View All

Medication Safety Certificate

Certification is a process used by health care organizations worldwide to accurately assess their level of performance in relation to established standards and to implement ways to continuously improve.
Enroll Today
New Practitioner Hero Image

Basic in Cardiology Pharmacy Certificate

This self-guided, online learning activity will provide 29 hours of ACPE continuing education for pharmacists, incorporating recorded presentations and skill-focused activities.
Enroll Today