Six ASHP Members Receive 2018 Distinguished Service Awards

Published: December 4, 2018
ASHP Press Release

Volunteer Leaders Recognized for Advancing Mission of Sections, New Practitioners Forum

ASHP today recognized the volunteer efforts of six practitioners with the Pharmacy Practice Sections and New Practitioners Forum (NPF) Distinguished Service Award. The awards were presented at a reception during ASHP’s 53rd Midyear Clinical Meeting and Exhibition in Anaheim. The award recognizes an outstanding member from each pharmacy practice section and the NPF, honoring pharmacists whose efforts have helped to advance the profession.

The 2018 recipients include the following:

Section of Ambulatory Care Practitioners (SACP)
Seena L. Haines, Pharm.D., BCACP, BC-ADM, CDE, FAPhA, FASHP, FCCP, F-NAP

Seena Haines is Chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Professor at the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy in Jackson. Dr. Haines is a Past Chair and Director-at-Large of the section and a member of the Section Advisory Group (SAG) on Clinical Practice Advancement and the SAG on Compensation and Practice Sustainability. She is the Vice Chair of the ASHP Council on Education and Workforce Development and is a faculty member for the ASHP Ambulatory Care Board Review Course.

Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists (SCSS)
Christopher Betz, Pharm.D., BCPS, FASHP, FKSHP

Christopher Betz is a Professor in the Department of Clinical and Administrative Sciences at Sullivan University College of Pharmacy in Louisville, Ky. Dr. Betz is a Past Chair of the Section, the section’s Committee on Nominations, and the ASHP Council on Pharmacy Practice. He is a Past President of the Louisiana Society of Health-System Pharmacists (LSHP), served on the LSHP and Kentucky Society of Health-System Pharmacists Board of Directors, and represented both states as a delegate to the ASHP House of Delegates. He also served as a Cardiology Network Facilitator and is a content matter expert for the ASHP Pharmacotherapy Board Certification Review and Recertification Course.

Section of Inpatient Care Practitioners (SICP)
Joanne Kowiatek, R.Ph., MPM, FASHP

Joanne Kowiatek is an Oncology Consultant Pharmacist at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center Hillman Cancer Center and an Adjunct Assistant Professor in the Department of Pharmacy and Therapeutics at the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy. Kowiatek has served on the ASHP Foundation’s Award for Excellence in Medication-Use Safety Selection Panel and the SICP’s Committee on Nominations. She is a Past Chair of the SAG on Medication Safety, served as Director-at-Large of the section, and was an expert reviewer for the ASHP Guidelines for Preventing Medication Errors in Hospitals.


Section of Pharmacy Informatics and Technology (SOPIT)
Thomas W. Cooley, B.S.Pharm., M.B.A.

Thomas W. Cooley is the Director of Pharmacy Informatics and Support Services at Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston. He is a member of the SAG on Operations and Automation and served as a subject matter expert on the 2013 ASHP Foundation Barcode Medication Safety Panel.

Section of Pharmacy Practice Managers (SPPM)
Cynthia P. Williams, B.S.Pharm., FASHP

Cynthia Williams is the Vice President/Chief Pharmacy Officer for Riverside Health System in Newport News, Va. A Past Chair and current member of the SAG on Multi-Hospital Pharmacy Executives, Williams has also served on serveral SPPM advisory groups, including the SAG on Management of the Pharmacy Enterprise, the SAG on Patient Care Quality, and the SAG on Patient Care Quality. She also was a member of the SOPIT SAG on Clinical Applications. Williams is the President of the Virginia Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

New Practitioners Forum (NPF)
Joshua W. Fleming, Pharm.D., BCACP

Joshua Fleming is a Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice at the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy in Jackson. Dr. Fleming is a Past Chair and Vice Chair of the New Practitioners Forum, represented Mississippi as a delegate to the House of Delegates, and was a member of the Joint Sections and Forums Practice Advancement Initiatives Committee.

For more information on the award, visit the Distinguished Service Award page on ASHP’s website.

About ASHP
ASHP represents pharmacists who serve as patient care providers in acute and ambulatory settings. The organization’s 45,000 members include pharmacists, student pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians. For more than 75 years, ASHP has been at the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists advance healthcare, visit ASHP’s website,, or its consumer website,

Posted December 4, 2018

Advance Your Professional Development

View Other Products

Free Board Exam Prep Resources

The Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP) includes free access to exam preparation material + enrollment in a recertification plan billed monthly ($10) during your initial recertification cycle. For ASHP members only.

Learn More
Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP)

New Edition Available to Order

AHFS Drug Information® 2024 contains the most dependable drug information available—all in one place. It is the most comprehensive evidence-based source of drug information complete with therapeutic guidelines and off-label uses.

Order Today
AHFS 2024 Drug Information