ASHP Awards Honorary Membership to Henri Manasse

Published: June 11, 2019
ASHP Press Release

Respected Educator and Leader in Pharmacy and Healthcare Recognized for
Outstanding Contributions to Pharmacy Practice

Henri R. Manasse Jr., Ph.D., Sc.D. (Hon.), FFIP, today received the ASHP Board of Directors’ Honorary Membership Award for his commitment to improving patient safety and promoting the contributions of pharmacists in medication error prevention and safe medication use. He received the award during ASHP’s 2019 Summer Meetings.

The ASHP Board of Directors’ Honorary Membership Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to pharmacy practice. Honorary members are elected for life by unanimous vote of the ASHP Board of Directors.

Dr. Manasse is Professor and Dean Emeritus at the University of Illinois at Chicago, College of Pharmacy (UIC). He served as Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of ASHP from 1997 to 2011. His tenure as CEO was a period of growth for ASHP in numerous areas, including membership, educational conferences, residency accreditation, and publishing. Under his leadership, ASHP became increasingly engaged in proactive government advocacy and formed strong relationships with a wide variety of stakeholders in medicine, nursing, standards-setting bodies, hospital organizations, and payers.

He is a Past Chair of the Board of Governors of the National Patient Safety Foundation. He served as Co-chair of the National Quality Forum’s Safe Practices Steering Committee and the Advisory Committee for Executive Leadership, and he was a member of the Food and Drug Administration Drug Safety and Risk Management Advisory Committee. He is a Past Chair of the Joint Commission’s Sentinel Event Alert Advisory Group and was a member of the Joint Commission International’s Steering Committee on Patient Safety. He also served on the Board of Advisors of the Association of Academic Health Centers project on the future of the health professions workforce.

Dr. Manasse is a Past President of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy and served as the Professional Secretary of the Board of Pharmaceutical Practice of the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP). He is an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine of Chicago, and has received honorary Doctor of Science degrees from eight institutions.

A Fellow of FIP, Dr. Manasse is the recipient of numerous honors and awards, including the Joseph A. Oddis Award for Exceptional Service to FIP, the Henry Milton Whelpley Sesquicentennial Medal from the St. Louis College of Pharmacy, and the highest award in hospital and health-system pharmacy, the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award from ASHP.

About ASHP
ASHP represents pharmacists who serve as patient care providers in acute and ambulatory settings. The organization’s nearly 50,000 members include pharmacists, student pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians. For more than 75 years, ASHP has been at the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists advance healthcare, visit ASHP’s website,, or its consumer website,


Posted June 11, 2019

Advance Your Professional Development

View Other Products

Free Board Exam Prep Resources

The Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP) includes free access to exam preparation material + enrollment in a recertification plan billed monthly ($10) during your initial recertification cycle. For ASHP members only.

Learn More
Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP)

New Edition Available to Order

AHFS Drug Information® 2024 contains the most dependable drug information available—all in one place. It is the most comprehensive evidence-based source of drug information complete with therapeutic guidelines and off-label uses.

Order Today
AHFS 2024 Drug Information