Johnson Elected Next President of ASHP

Published: August 2, 2019

Jolowsky Elected Treasurer, Briscoe-Dwyer and Sinclair Elected to Board of Directors

Thomas J. Johnson, Pharm.D., M.B.A., BCCCP, BCPS, FASHP, FCCM, has been elected as ASHP’s new President-elect. Christene M. Jolowsky, B.S.Pharm., M.S., FASHP, was elected as ASHP Treasurer and Leigh A. Briscoe-Dwyer, Pharm.D., B.S.Pharm., BCPS, FASHP, and Jamie S. Sinclair, B.S. Pharm., M.S., R.Ph., FASHP, were elected to serve on the ASHP Board of Directors.

Johnson is Assistant Vice President of Hospital Pharmacy at Avera Health, in Sioux Falls, S.D. He recently completed a term as ASHP Treasurer and was a member of the ASHP Board of Directors, Councils on Education and Workforce Development and Therapeutics, the Committee on Nominations, the Task Force on Organizational Structure, and the Practitioner Recognition Committee. Johnson served as a South Dakota delegate in the ASHP House of Delegates, is a Past President of the South Dakota Society of Health-System Pharmacists (SDSHP) and was named the 2005 SDSHP Pharmacist of the Year.

Jolowsky is Director, Hennepin Healthcare System in Minneapolis. She is a Past President of ASHP and served on the Board of Directors and as chair of several councils, committees, and task forces. She is also a Past President of the Minnesota Society of Health-System Pharmacy.

Briscoe-Dwyer is the Vice President of Network Pharmacy for the Westchester Medical Center Health Network in Valhalla, N.Y. She served as a New York delegate to the House of Delegates, Chair of the Committee on Nominations, and was a member of the Council on Public Policy, the Practitioner Recognition Committee, and the Advocacy & PAC Advisory Committee.

Sinclair is Director of Pharmacy Services for Mercy Medical Center in Cedar Rapids, Iowa and Adjunct Assistant Professor at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. She has served as Chair of the Commission on Affiliate Relations and as an Iowa and Minnesota delegate to the ASHP House of Delegates. She was also a member of the Council on Pharmacy Practice, Committee on Nominations, Women in Pharmacy Leadership Steering Committee and was a faculty member for the ASHP/ISMP Medication Safety Certificate.

Johnson and Jolowsky will begin their terms immediately. Briscoe-Dwyer and Sinclair will begin their three-year terms in June 2020.

ASHP thanks the members of the Board of Canvassers for their work to certify the election results. The members of the Board of Canvassers are Jim Trovato, (Chair), Mary Binghay, Chris Ellison, John Spain, and Majid Tanas.


Posted August 2, 2019

Advance Your Professional Development

View All

Medication Safety Certificate

Certification is a process used by health care organizations worldwide to accurately assess their level of performance in relation to established standards and to implement ways to continuously improve.
Enroll Today
New Practitioner Hero Image

Basic in Cardiology Pharmacy Certificate

This self-guided, online learning activity will provide 29 hours of ACPE continuing education for pharmacists, incorporating recorded presentations and skill-focused activities.
Enroll Today