2020 Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award

Published: January 10, 2020

ASHP is pleased to announce that William A. Miller, M.Sc., Pharm.D., FCCP, FASHP, is the recipient of the 2020 Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award, health-system pharmacy’s highest honor.

Miller is a nationally recognized expert in the areas of pharmacy leadership, the role of clinical pharmacists, and residency programs and accreditation.

During his 50-year career, he has been a clinical pharmacist, author, educator, mentor, and leader. He has worked since early in his career to position pharmacists on the front lines of patient care and to ensure excellence in residency training programs. He will receive the award at the ASHP Summer Meetings & Exhibition in June.

ASHP has administered the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award — established in 1950 by the Southeastern Michigan Society of Hospital Pharmacists — since 1963. Harvey A.K. Whitney, ASHP’s first president, was an editor, author, educator, practitioner, and leader in hospital pharmacy. The award recognizes significant contributions to the advancement of pharmacy practice. Nominations for the award are made by past recipients and ASHP members. The winner is selected by a majority vote of past honorees.

Miller is the author of more than 100 publications in peer-reviewed journals and is the past president of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy and the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP), the latter of which he helped found. He served on the ASHP Commission on Credentialing for a six-year period and was chair for two years. In addition, Miller has served as both a guest and lead accreditation surveyor for ASHP for 32 years.


He has served as an instructor and professor in the colleges of pharmacy at the University of Kentucky, The Ohio State University, University of Tennessee, the Medical University of South Carolina, and the University of Iowa, where he currently serves as professor emeritus. He has also served as the director of pharmacy at the University of Tennessee Center for Health Sciences and the Medical University of South Carolina Medical Center and as college of pharmacy department chair at the University of Tennessee Center for Health Sciences, Medical University of South Carolina, and University of Iowa.

He has received many honors for his contributions to the profession of pharmacy including the ASHP Award for Professional Achievement; the President’s Award, Research Institute Service Award, Education Award, and the Paul F. Parker Medal from ACCP; the President’s Award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy; the Robert G. Leonard Memorial Lecturer Award from University of Texas; the Ebert Memorial Lecture from the University of Illinois College of Pharmacy; the Clifton J. Latiolais Award from The Ohio State University; and the Merck Lecture Award from Drake University.

Miller earned a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy and a Master of Science degree in Pharmacy from the Ohio State University College of Pharmacy. He earned a Doctor of Pharmacy from the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy.

Posted January 10, 2020

Advance Your Professional Development

View All

Medication Safety Certificate

Certification is a process used by health care organizations worldwide to accurately assess their level of performance in relation to established standards and to implement ways to continuously improve.
Enroll Today
New Practitioner Hero Image

Basic in Cardiology Pharmacy Certificate

This self-guided, online learning activity will provide 29 hours of ACPE continuing education for pharmacists, incorporating recorded presentations and skill-focused activities.
Enroll Today