ASHP Announces 2020 Award Recipients

Published: February 26, 2020

Board of Directors Awards Honor Practice Excellence, Outstanding Contributions to Healthcare

ASHP is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2020 Board of Directors awards. The following awards will be presented this year during ceremonies at ASHP’s national meetings:

Honorary Membership (ASHP Summer Meetings, June 2020)

The ASHP Board of Directors’ Honorary Membership Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to pharmacy practice. Honorary members are elected for life by unanimous vote of the ASHP Board of Directors.


  • Daniel M. Ashby, M.S., FASHP, Vice President and Chief Pharmacy Officer, Johns Hopkins Health System, Baltimore, MD
    Mr. Ashby is a prominent leader in pharmacy and a champion for the expansion of clinical pharmacy services, post-graduate residency training, innovative technologies, and educational programs for pharmacists, student pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians.
  • Marianne F. Ivey, Pharm.D., M.P.H., FASHP, FFIP, Professor Emerita, James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH
    Dr. Ivey is a highly respected practitioner, educator, and leader in pharmacy. She is a passionate advocate for and supporter of leadership training and development as well as change management.

Award of Excellence (ASHP Summer Meetings, June 2020)

The ASHP Award of Excellence recognizes a recent, singular, nationally significant achievement or contribution that has advanced the ability of pharmacists to serve the needs of patients.


  • Department of Veteran Affairs (VA) Clinical Pharmacy Practice Office (CPPO) and Pharmacy Residency Program Office (PRPO)
    The VA CPPO and PRPO developed and implemented comprehensive strategies to expand advanced clinical pharmacy practice excellence and post-graduate pharmacy residency training. These innovative efforts resulted in greater patient access to care, improved patient safety, identification and treatment of substance use disorders, and enhanced care coordination.
  • Virginia Mason Kirkland Medical Center, Seattle, WA
    The Virginia Mason Kirkland Medical Center implemented initiatives to support well-being and resilience and reduce burnout for its patient care providers. These initiatives have been selected by the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) to promote pharmacists as part of an interprofessional team to address clinician burnout and promote resilience.

Award of Honor (55th Midyear Clinical Meeting, December 2020)

The ASHP Board of Directors’ Award of Honor recognizes individuals outside the pharmacy discipline who have made extraordinary national or worldwide contributions to the health field.


  • Victor J. Dzau, M.D., President, National Academy of Medicine (NAM), Washington, D.C.
    Dr. Dzau is an internationally acclaimed leader and scientist whose work has improved health and healthcare in the United States and globally. He is a strong advocate for the engagement of pharmacists on the interprofessional healthcare team as well their participation in critical public health initiatives such as the NAM Action Collaborative on Clinician Well-Being and Resilience and the NAM Action Collaborative on Countering the U.S. Opioid Epidemic.


Distinguished Leadership Award (55th Midyear Clinical Meeting, December 2020)

The ASHP Board of Directors’ Distinguished Leadership Award recognizes contributions to excellence in pharmacy practice leadership in acute and ambulatory care settings.


  • John A. Armitstead, M.S., R.Ph., FASHP, System Director, Pharmacy Services, Lee Health, Fort Myers, FL
    Mr. Armitstead is an engaging and respected pharmacy administrator and leader. His contributions to ASHP and the profession have elevated pharmacy practice in countless ways, including his support for continuous professional development for the pharmacy workforce.

Donald E. Francke Medal (55th Midyear Clinical Meeting, December 2020)

The ASHP Board of Directors’ Donald E. Francke Medal honors pharmacists who have made significant international contributions to advance pharmacy practice.


  • Anthony Serracino-Inglott, Pharm.D., Professor, Department of Pharmacy, Faculty of Medicine and Surgery, University of Malta
    Professor Serracino-Inglott is a well-known and respected figure in international pharmacy. He is a champion of clinical pharmacy practice focused on patient care and safety and was instrumental in transforming pharmacy practice in his home country of Malta and across Europe and other countries.
Posted February 26, 2020

Advance Your Professional Development

View Other Products

Free Board Exam Prep Resources

The Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP) includes free access to exam preparation material + enrollment in a recertification plan billed monthly ($10) during your initial recertification cycle. For ASHP members only.

Learn More
Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP)

New Edition Available to Order

AHFS Drug Information® 2024 contains the most dependable drug information available—all in one place. It is the most comprehensive evidence-based source of drug information complete with therapeutic guidelines and off-label uses.

Order Today
AHFS 2024 Drug Information