Kienle Named Recipient of 2022 Harvey A K Whitney Lecture Award

Published: January 24, 2022

ASHP is pleased to announce that Patricia C. Kienle, B.S. Pharm., M.P.A., BCSCP, FASHP, is the recipient of the 2022 Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award, health-system pharmacy’s highest honor.

Kienle is a nationally recognized expert in medication safety, quality assurance in sterile product and hazardous drug preparation, and accreditation and regulatory compliance.

Currently, the director of accreditation and medication safety for Cardinal Health Innovative Delivery Solutions, Kienle’s career spans over 40 years, including experience both as a practitioner and pharmacy director and a medication safety leader in hospitals and health systems. She will receive the award at the ASHP Summer Meetings & Exhibition in June.

ASHP has administered the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award — established in 1950 by the Southeastern Michigan Society of Hospital Pharmacists — since 1963. Harvey A.K. Whitney, ASHP’s first president, was an editor, author, educator, practitioner, and leader in hospital pharmacy. The award recognizes significant contributions to the advancement of pharmacy practice. Nominations for the award are made by past recipients and ASHP members. The winner is selected by a majority vote of past honorees.

Kienle regularly contributes her expertise to professional practice, local and national professional associations and accreditation, regulatory, standards-setting, safety, and quality groups. She is the author of The Chapter <800> Answer Book, published by ASHP, and numerous other books and articles in peer-reviewed journals.


An active member of national, state, and local pharmacy associations, Kienle served on ASHP's Board of Directors and as president of the Pennsylvania Society of Health-System Pharmacists (PSHP). She is a member of the United States Pharmacopeia Compounding Expert Committee and was chair of its subcommittee and expert panel on hazardous drugs. She also has served on the Board of Pharmacy Specialties Pharmacotherapy Specialty Council, as the pharmacist member of the Hospital Professional and Technical Advisory Committee of the Joint Commission, a board member of the Institute for Safe Medication Practices, and on the Board of Governors of the National Patient Safety Foundation.

A Fellow of ASHP, she has received many honors for her contributions to pharmacy, including the ASHP John W. Webb Lecture Award and Board of Directors Award for Distinguished Leadership; the PSHP Sister Gonzales Duffy Lecture Award and Pharmacist of the Year; the Distinguished Achievement Award in Hospital and Institutional Practice from the American Pharmacists Association Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management, and the ISMP Lifetime Achievement Award.

Kienle received her pharmacy degree from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science and a Masters in Public Administration from Marywood University in Scranton, Pennsylvania.

Posted January 24, 2022

Advance Your Professional Development

View All

Medication Safety Certificate

Certification is a process used by health care organizations worldwide to accurately assess their level of performance in relation to established standards and to implement ways to continuously improve.
Enroll Today
New Practitioner Hero Image

Basic in Cardiology Pharmacy Certificate

This self-guided, online learning activity will provide 29 hours of ACPE continuing education for pharmacists, incorporating recorded presentations and skill-focused activities.
Enroll Today