ASHP Member

ASHP Board of Directors Award Recipients Honored at the 2023 Summer Meetings

Kate Traynor
Kate Traynor Senior Writer, ASHP News Center Published: June 14, 2023
ASHP Award of Excellence 2023, Julie K. Dagam, Rebecca S. Finley, Philip J. Schneider, Thomas S. Thielke

ASHP Award of Excellence

The ASHP Board of Directors Award of Excellence recognizes contributions to excellence in pharmacy practice in acute and ambulatory care settings. The 2023 recipient of this award is Julie K. Dagam, PharmD, BCPS, FASHP, FPSW, pharmacy residency program manager for Advocate Aurora Health in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Julie DagamJulie K. Dagam, PharmD, BCPS, FASHP, FPSW
Dagam is the chair of the ASHP Commission on Credentialing, where she led the development of the ASHP Accreditation Standard for Postgraduate Residency Programs. The revised standard will be implemented July 1, 2023, and will provide a strong framework to ensure pharmacy residents develop all the necessary skills to independently provide patient care and meet community and patient needs.


ASHP Honorary Membership Award

The ASHP Board of Directors Honorary Membership Award recognizes people who have made outstanding contributions to pharmacy practice. This year’s recipients are Rebecca S. Finley, PharmD, MS, FASHP, founding dean and professor of pharmacy practice at Thomas Jefferson University’s Jefferson College of Pharmacy in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Philip J. Schneider, MS, FASHP, FASPEN, FFIP, professor of pharmacy practice at The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy in Columbus; and Thomas S. Thielke, MS, RPh, FASHP, FFIP, clinical professor emeritus at the University of Wisconsin–Madison School of Pharmacy in Madison.

Rebecca FinleyRebecca S. Finley, PharmD, MS, FASHP
Finley is a researcher, educator, and leader who has made sustained contributions to oncology pharmacy practice, ASHP and other professional associations, and academia.

philip schneiderPhilip J. Schneider, MS, FASHP, FASPEN, FFIP
Schneider is a distinguished pharmacy educator, scholar, and leader with over 40 years of sustained contributions to pharmacy practice, education and training, research and publishing, and volunteer service to the profession.

Tom ThielkeThomas S. Thielke, MS, RPh, FASHP, FFIP
Thielke is a well-respected pharmacy leader, educator, and speaker. His leadership, insight, and knowledge have been instrumental in advancing health-system pharmacy practice nationally and internationally.

The awards were presented Tuesday, June 13, at the ASHP Summer Meetings in Baltimore, Maryland.

Posted June 14, 2023

Advance Your Professional Development

View Other Products

Free Board Exam Prep Resources

The Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP) includes free access to exam preparation material + enrollment in a recertification plan billed monthly ($10) during your initial recertification cycle. For ASHP members only.

Learn More
Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP)

New Edition Available to Order

AHFS Drug Information® 2024 contains the most dependable drug information available—all in one place. It is the most comprehensive evidence-based source of drug information complete with therapeutic guidelines and off-label uses.

Order Today
AHFS 2024 Drug Information