ASHP Appoints Task Force on Racial Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Published: July 16, 2020

ASHP is pleased to announce that the Board of Directors has named 18 members to the ASHP Task Force on Racial Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. The task force is charged with taking inventory of ASHP’s efforts in the areas of racial diversity, equity, and inclusion as they relate to issues facing Black Americans, and for making related recommendations on new or enhanced efforts ASHP may undertake in the following areas:

  • Governance and committees such as the ASHP and ASHP Foundation boards of directors, commissions, councils, sections and forums, House of Delegates, committees on nominations, and ASHP advisory bodies
  • Education and training
  • Research
  • Advocacy
  • Publications
  • Marketing and communications

The ASHP Board of Directors unanimously approved the creation of the task force on June 6. The task force will be chaired by Paul C. Walker, Pharm.D., FASHP. Walker serves on ASHP’s Board of Directors and is assistant dean of experiential education and community engagement and clinical professor in the Department of Clinical Pharmacy at the University of Michigan College of Pharmacy.

“We are thrilled to see the tremendous response from ASHP members as we collectively work to lead this national effort that takes action on racism, combats disparities, and prioritizes meaningful actions and solutions for the pharmacy profession,” said Walker.

The task force will begin its work in early August to identify actionable steps and solutions to create positive and sustainable change in many key areas within the scope of ASHP’s mission.

“We are honored to have this exceptional group of leaders serving on this extremely important task force,” said ASHP CEO Paul W. Abramowitz, Pharm.D., Sc.D. (Hon.), FASHP. “ASHP is sincerely committed to doing our part to help create important changes that make our profession more socially just, equitable, and inclusive for Black Americans.”

The task force will culminate with recommendations to the ASHP Board of Directors in January 2021. ASHP will continue to update our members as the work of the task force begins in the coming weeks.

Task Force Members Include

Paul C. Walker, Pharm.D., FASHP
Chair and Board Liaison, ASHP
Clinical Professor and Assistant Dean, Experiential Education and Community Engagement and Manager, Department of Pharmacy
The University of Michigan College of Pharmacy
Ann Arbor, MI

Thomas J. Johnson, Pharm.D., M.B.A., BCPS, BCCCP, FASHP, FCCM
President, ASHP
Assistant Vice-President of Hospital Pharmacy
Avera Health
Pharmacy Department
Sioux Falls, SD

Paul W. Abramowitz, Pharm.D., Sc.D. (Hon), FASHP
Chief Executive Officer
Bethesda, MD

Joshua “Josh” Blackwell, Pharm.D., M.S.
Clinical Pharmacy Manager
Johns Hopkins Home Care
Baltimore, MD

Jeffrey Clark
Chair, ASHP Pharmacy Student Forum
Fourth-Year Doctor of Pharmacy Candidate
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine School of Pharmacy
Duluth, GA

John E. Clark, Pharm.D., M.S., FASHP
Director, Experiential Education and Pharmacy Residency Programs
Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacotherapeutics and Clinical Research
University of South Florida College of Pharmacy
Tampa, FL


Nkiruka C. Emezienna, M.S.
Fourth-Year Doctor of Pharmacy Candidate
Howard University College of Pharmacy
Lanham, MD

Minnie V. Baylor-Henry, J.D., Esq.
President, B-Henry & Associates
Member, ASHP Foundation Board
Boston, MA

Vivian Johnson, Pharm.D., M.B.A., FASHP
Senior Vice President of Clinical Services
Parkland Health and Hospital System
Dallas, TX

Mae Kwong, Pharm.D., R.Ph.
Sammamish, WA

Jeannell M. Mansur, Pharm.D., FASHP, FSMSO, CJCP
Principal Consultant, Medication Management and Safety
Joint Commission Resources and Joint Commission International
Chicago, IL

Dawn M. Moore, Pharm.D., M.S., FACHE
Vice President and Chief Pharmacy Officer
Community Health Network
Fishers, IN

Yvette Morrison, Pharm.D., BCPS, FASHP
Clinical Pharmacy Coordinator
Oklahoma City Indian Clinic
Oklahoma City, OK

Melissa A. Ortega, Pharm.D., M.S.
Director, Ambulatory and Retail Pharmacy Services
Tufts Medical Center
Boston, MA

Vickie Ferdinand-Powell, Pharm.D., M.S., FASHP
Director of Pharmacy Operations
New York Presbyterian Hospital
Pharmacy Department
New York, NY

Bruce E. Scott, R.Ph., M.S., FASHP
ASHP Past President
Eden Prairie, MN

Toyin Tofade, Pharm.D., M.S., BCPS, CPCC
Dean and Professor
Howard University College of Pharmacy
Washington, DC

Lanita S. White, Pharm.D.
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
College of Pharmacy
Little Rock, AR



Posted July 16, 2020

Advance Your Professional Development

View Other Products

Free Board Exam Prep Resources

The Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP) includes free access to exam preparation material + enrollment in a recertification plan billed monthly ($10) during your initial recertification cycle. For ASHP members only.

Learn More
Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP)

New Edition Available to Order

AHFS Drug Information® 2024 contains the most dependable drug information available—all in one place. It is the most comprehensive evidence-based source of drug information complete with therapeutic guidelines and off-label uses.

Order Today
AHFS 2024 Drug Information