Ginsburg Named 2024 Recipient of Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award

Published: January 25, 2024
Diane B. Ginsburg

ASHP is pleased to announce that Diane B. Ginsburg, PhD, MS, RPh, FASHP, a noted educator, author, speaker, volunteer leader, and advocate, is the recipient of the 2024 Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award, health-system pharmacy’s highest honor. She will receive the award at the ASHP Pharmacy Futures 2024 meeting in June.

Ginsburg is associate dean for healthcare partnerships and clinical professor in the division of pharmacy practice at The University of Texas College of Pharmacy in Austin. She also has a five-year appointment to the University of Texas Provost’s Distinguished Service Academy.

She is a sought-after expert in pharmacy law, practice transformation, healthcare reform, ethics, and leadership. Ginsburg has made more than 460 presentations and authored over 35 journal articles. She is a pharmacist consultant on drug diversion to the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) and a consultant member of the Food and Drug Administration Nonprescription Drugs Advisory Committee. Ginsburg also serves as an adjunct instructor at the DEA Training Academy, where she trains attorneys, investigators, and field officers to analyze pharmacy data.

Ginsburg was editor-in-chief for four editions of PharmPrep: ASHP’s NAPLEX Review. She also authored several chapters and was the co-editor of four editions of ASHP’s Preceptor’s Handbook for Pharmacists and was co-editor of Infectious Diseases Pharmacotherapy Self-Assessment. All three books received nominations for the University of Texas Hamilton Book Award, and PharmPrep received the Association Trends first-place award for best book or manual in 2001.

An enthusiastic volunteer in professional associations, Ginsburg is a past president of ASHP and the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists. She also served as Chair of the ASHP Foundation Board of Directors. She was an integral part of the team that launched the ASHP National Clinical Skills Competition and was the competition coordinator for four years. Ginsburg is a founding member of the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP) World Hospital Pharmacy Research Consortium and a frequent presenter during the FIP World Congress sessions.

Ginsburg has held several leadership positions in the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, including chair of the Strategic Engagement Committee, the Taskforce on Advocacy, and as national dean facilitator for the Academic Leadership Fellows Program. She was recently appointed to the board of directors of the Accreditation Council of Pharmacy Education.


She is the recipient of numerous honors for her work, including the University of Houston College of Pharmacy Roger Anderson Leadership Award and Robert L. Bobbitt Memorial Lecture Award, the University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy Phillip C. and Ethel F. Ashby Lecture Award, the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy Charles W. Hartman Memorial Lecture Award, the Alcade Texas Ten Award from the University of Texas Ex-Students Association, and the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumnus Award. She is a Fellow of ASHP, a National Academies of Practice (NAP) Distinguished Practitioner and Fellow, a NAP Distinguished Fellow in Pharmacy, and a member of the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society and the Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education.

Ginsburg received a Bachelor of Science in pharmacy from the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy, a Master of Science in pharmacy from the University of Houston College of Pharmacy, and PhD in educational administration and leadership from the University of Texas at Austin. She completed a residency in hospital pharmacy administration at Methodist Hospital in Houston, Texas.

ASHP has administered the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award — established in 1950 by the Southeastern Michigan Society of Hospital Pharmacists — since 1963. Harvey A.K. Whitney, ASHP’s first president, was an editor, author, educator, practitioner, and leader in hospital pharmacy. The award recognizes significant contributions to the advancement of pharmacy practice. Nominations for the award are made by past recipients and ASHP members. The winner is selected by a majority vote of past honorees.

Posted January 25, 2024

Advance Your Professional Development

View Other Products

Free Board Exam Prep Resources

The Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP) includes free access to exam preparation material + enrollment in a recertification plan billed monthly ($10) during your initial recertification cycle. For ASHP members only.

Learn More
Review & Recertification Reward Program (RRRP)

New Edition Available to Order

AHFS Drug Information® 2024 contains the most dependable drug information available—all in one place. It is the most comprehensive evidence-based source of drug information complete with therapeutic guidelines and off-label uses.

Order Today
AHFS 2024 Drug Information